With the announcement of her forthcoming album Blastoma, set to be released on June 10, soulful siren NGAIIRE has unearthed a new single off the album, titled ‘Diggin’.
The catchy tune debuts alongside the official music video which you can check out below!

Currently on tour for Groovin the Moo and the upcoming Splendour in the Grass, the Papua New Guinean, now based in Sydney, has gone from strength to strength off the back of her brief stint on Australian Idol to singing backing vocals for Blue King BrownPaul Mac and Chet Faker.

Following her 2013 debut album Lamentations, the ballet and classical dance inspired NGAIIRE continues to reveal her strong affinity with movement and choreography, especially seen in the video for ‘Diggin’. The video is a sensual taste of NGAIIRE’s eccentricity and love for body language; with the dark and ominous background highlighted only by the golden halo’s of dancing girls and the majestic NGAIIRE painted in eyes that mimic the ancient royalty of Cleopatra. Honestly, the video is mesmerizing. The use of the body is provocative at times but confident and strong, serving as a visual metaphor for the lyrics which basque in her unique harmonies and powerful vocal control.

‘Diggin’ is a song about enduring hardships but it’s not a sop-story. Listening to it makes you want to dance and celebrate the risks in life and be thankful for the challenges it brings.

Blastoma contains a track list of 9 songs, including the already debuted single ‘Once’ which peaked at #73 in Triple J’s Hottest 100. The album is co-produced with electronic music guru Paul Mac and Jack Grace, and holds a special meaning to NGAIIRE with the album title Blastoma being reference to a form of cancer of which she fought during her childhood.

By Taylor Anne Koniw


1. Anchor
2. Once
3. Cruel
4. House on a Rock
5. I Wear Black
6. Diggin
7. I Can’t Hear God Anymore
8. Many Things
9. Fall Into My Arms


Similar posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *